Crocheted Jane Austen Bonnet (and a Jane Austen tea)

Standard

It’s time for a confession… I love Jane Austen. This probably comes as no surprise to most people. I love reading her novels, watching movie adaptations, and dreaming about Mr. Darcy.

Over the last couple of years, this adoration has grown… Now I own Jane Austen knitting magazines, self-help books (Ermahgerd, read it! It’s amazing!), and I’m a member of JASNA¬†(the Jane Austen Society of North America). Yup. Be jealous.

Last Sunday, I went to a tea hosted by the JASNA North Texas Region at the Adolphus Hotel in Dallas, Texas. It was FABULOUS!

A quote from Pride and Prejudice

A quote from Pride and Prejudice

To prepare for this super exciting event, I made a bonnet from my Austentatious Crochet book. I actually made it twice because the first time I finished it, even though I followed the gauge exactly, it was just a little too small. So, I tried again with a bigger crochet hook and got a fit that I liked much better. The hat is sort of a twist between a traditional bonnet and a newsboy hat. I whipped up a cute Irish Flower in a contrasting color and voila!

Jane Austen Bonnet

The tea was awesome! There was a guest lecturer who spoke about the argument between Eliabeth Bennet and Lady Catherine de Bourgh in Pride and Prejudice and how Lizzy essentially shows up Lady Catherine and wins the argument without actually arguing. Analyses like that really get me thinking and make me realize how witty and intelligent Jane Austen really was. The tea was in the French Room of the Adolphus Hotel, which is super fancy and over 100 years old. Apparently, Queen Elizabeth stayed at the hotel in 1991. How cool! I wonder what she was doing in Dallas…

Queen Elizabeth and Prince Phillip in 1991

Queen Elizabeth and Prince Phillip in 1991

We were served some pretty incredible tea, sandwiches, scones, pastries and chocolates in the French Room. The scone was literally the best-tasting scone I’ve ever, ever had! (Of course I didn’t take a picture of it because I was too busy smearing Devonshire cream and raspberry jam all over it and shoving it in my face.) I need to order some Devonshire cream soon and make a batch of scones myself…

Pastries in the French Room

Pastries in the French Room

 

Leave a Reply

